True Beauty

Y’all, I want to be real & open & honest. Some days I don’t feel beautiful.


Social media has made it sooooo incredibly easy to play the comparison game.

“Why did she post this picture! My arms look so much fatter than hers.”

“Wow she looks beautiful in this picture; I wish I looked like that!”

“I wish I had that outfit and her hair and her body.”

Yes, I know I am fearfully & wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). I know I am made in His image (Genesis 1:27). I know I am dearly loved (Colossians 3:12). But most days, I don’t feel that way.

So why am I exposing myself like this? I was reading a blog post by Jordan Lee (her blog is called SoulScripts) about body image, social media, & the comparison game. One quote really stuck out to me:

“From God’s perspective, when He sees us, He sees the perfection of Jesus.”

-Jordan Lee

This quote made me think about beauty in a whole different way. When the Bible is talking about being beautiful, it’s not talking about physical beauty. It’s talking about beauty that comes from knowing that you & I are worth dying for. You & I are beautiful because of the work God has done in our lives through Jesus. We are messy, imperfect people. We could never be made beautiful on our own.

“He loves us because He sees Jesus’ perfect righteousness in place of our mess. He doesn’t love the mess. He loves the redeemed girl beneath that mess because He loves the Messiah who we have access to that same love through.”

-Jordan Lee

a2a4f453e2f3f9e759164be5605625b3

I get so tired of playing the comparison game. God isn’t concerned with physical beauty; He is concerned with the beauty that comes with knowing Jesus intimately. The beauty that comes with focusing on Heavenly things, not earthly things.

“Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things.”

Colossians 3:2

Sin is always going to be there. Jealousy, comparison, & selfishness are all going to try to take hold of our lives. Sin makes us ugly. God makes us beautiful. It’s about fixing our eyes on Jesus & knowing that the redeeming love of Jesus is beautiful; therefore, I’m made beautiful.

Next time you start tearing yourself apart out of jealousy, remember that you are worth dying for. You are worth saving. Jesus is in you & working in your life. You were made beautiful the second you accepted Jesus as your Savior.

4dac12e6212f10c068898aa179432447

Love,

Mal

 

5 thoughts on “True Beauty

Leave a Reply

